About Us

Battersea Chess Club meet on Tuesdays

Formed in 1885, Battersea Chess Club is the oldest continually-existing chess club in London and a founder member of the British Chess Federation. We welcome new members of all ages and abilities.

We play both serious and social chess, and we are proudly sponsored by the removals firm Bishop’s Move.

Bishop's Move, the removals firm, have very kindly sponsored us
Bishop’s Move, the removals firm, have very kindly sponsored us

Our first team play in the first division of the prestigious London Chess League, a competition which dates back to 1887, and we also field teams in the 3rd, 4th, 5th and 6th divisions.

The club also has teams in the Central London Chess League, which is a relatively new league with a more modern format played entirely at venues in Zone 1.

And in 2017, in collaboration with several other clubs, launched the Summer Chess League which is hosted at our venue.

In the past we have also played in the Surrey Chess League. The club remains a member of the Surrey County Chess Association.

Battersea also has an internal club championship and holds rapid-play and blitz tournaments, as well as the occasional friendly match against other clubs.

But if all you want is a few social games and a good place to get better at chess than you are more than welcome too. The atmosphere is relaxed and there is always someone on hand to play a game.

So whether it’s a serious or a social game you’re after, come and meet us.

To find out more, come along to our club night on Tuesday from 7.30-10.30pm at the Battersea Labour Club, 81-83 Falcon Road, London SW11 2PF or contact the club secretary Leon Watson – updates@batterseachessclub.org.uk.

Club Officers:

Chairman – Alan Palmer

Club Secretary – Leon Watson

Treasurer – Adrian Somerfield

Tournament Director – Ben Franklin

Website Editor – Bill Drennan

Equipment Maintenance Officer – Arnold Hunt

Team Captains:

In the 2017/18 season the club will field five teams in the London Chess League (LL), two in the Central London Chess League (CLL) in addition to two in the Summer Chess League (SCL).

LL1 + Eastman Cup – Chris Beckett

LL2 – Malcolm Dancy

LL3 – Tim Wells

LL MA – Arnold Hunt

LL MI – Leon Watson and Chris Rebbeck

CLL1 – Paul Stokes

CLL2 – Emil Todorow

SCL Volts – Leon Watson

SCL Amps – Aldo Camilleri


Print Friendly, PDF & Email